Minutes of the November 18, 2000 meeting of the Tampa Chapter SAR


President Tetrick called the meeting to order at 11:59. Jim Washburn offered the invocation and President Tetrick led the pledge to the flag and the pledge to the SAR.


We enjoyed another excellent turnout. Members present: Dwight Tetrick, Elwin Thrasher, Marty Miller, Jim Chambers, Jim Washburn, Kirby Halbert, Joseph Hill, Jack Bolen, Claude Ritchie, Bob Yarnell and Kevin Yarnell.


Welcome guests: Janett Tetrick, Helen Halbert, Fimie Ritchie, June Bolen, Mrs. Hill, Fred Patton and his wife, and our guest speaker David Taylor and his wife Kathy.


The SAR membership approved the minutes of the October meeting as published in the newsletter. The secretary had no other business to report.


Treasurer Marty Miller reported a balance of $2,310.89.


No old business was brought to the floor.


The attention of the meeting turned to the election of next year's officers. The secretary nominated the slate of officers as recommended by the Board of Governors. Dwight Tetrick, President; Bob Yarnell, vice president; Kevin Yarnell, secretary & treasurer; Elwin Thrasher, genealogist and newsletter editor; Jim Washburn, chaplain.


Marty Miller moved that this slate of officers be accepted without revision. Jim Washburn seconded the motion, which was pasted by acclamation.


The meeting recessed for lunch.


President Tetrick reconvened the membership and introduced the speaker, David Taylor. Mr. Taylor spoke on "Religion in the Revolution". Beginning with some background into his interest in this topic, Mr. Taylor illustrated his general remarks with specific stories about Rev. James Caldwell a chaplain in the Continental Army, and George Washington. These stories illustrated clearly the role faith and religion played in the revolutionary cause. The talk was well received by the membership.


The 50/50 drawing was won by Jim Chambers and donated his half to the chapter. Fourteen dollars was thus added to the treasury.


President Tetrick led the recessional and Jim Washburn gave the benediction. The meeting adjourned at 1:26.


Respectfully submitted,


Kevin Yarnell

Chapter Secretary