Minutes of the Sept. 15, 2001 meeting of the Tampa Chapter SAR


President Tetrick called the meeting to order at 12:02. Jack Bolen offered the invocation. Vice President Yarnell led the pledge to the flag and the President led the pledge to the SAR.


Members present: Claude Ritchie, Marty Miller, Elwin Thrasher, Cy Gamber, Dwight Tetrick, Fred Patton, Richard Warner, Jack Bolen, Bob Yarnell, and Kevin Yarnell.


Welcome guests: George Brooks, Lorain Moon, Janett Tetrick, June Bolen, Fimi Ritchie, June Patton, and Dan Stutzman.


The SAR membership approved the minutes of the May meeting as published in the newsletter.


The treasurer reported a balance of $2,333.31.

The secretary read a thank you note received from Zachariah Lakel, our Knight Essay contest winner in regard to his attendance at our May meeting and the 2nd place state award that was presented at that time.


President Tetrick announced that the National Society had approved Michael Mitcham for membership. We hope to present his certificate at the October meeting. The president formally presented a membership certificate to Fred Patton who was sworn in at the May meeting.


The annual picnic with the CAR has been moved from October to November. The arrangements will be announced at the October meeting.


President Tetrick presented a Meritorious Service Award to Kevin Yarnell for service to the chapter.


There being no other business the meeting recessed for lunch.


President Tetrick reconvened the meeting and introduced Vice President Yarnell who in turn introduced our guest speaker, George Brooks. George is a former president of the Tampa Chapter SAR. It was under his leadership that the chapter began to make a significant effort to improve the quality of our monthly programs.


George delivered a wonderful talk on the Battle of Ramsourís Mill. The revolutionary battle is significant in that it involved no regular soldiers on either side. George was able to take the membership through the conflict and added stories derived from his visit to the battlefield. The talk was very well received by the membership.


President Tetrick then swore in Richard Warner as a new member of the society and presented him with his membership certificate.


Janett Tetrick won the 50/50. $6.00 was thus added to the treasury.


President Tetrick led the recessional and Jack Bolen gave the benediction. The meeting adjourned at 1:55.


Respectfully submitted,


Kevin Yarnell

Chapter Secretary