Minutes of the January 24, 2004 meeting of the Tampa Chapter SAR


President Tetrick called the meeting to order at 12:15. Chaplain Washburn offered the invocation. The secretary led the pledge to the flag and the President led the pledge to the SAR.


Members present: Dwight Tetrick, Jack Bolen, Ed Neugaard, Luther Lloyd, Joe Hill, Rodney Stebbins, Marty Miller, Jim Washburn, Manning Miller of the St. Petersburg chapter, Walter Lane, Don Millleton, Harold Hackney (recently approved member), Bob Yarnell, and Kevin Yarnell.

Welcome guests: Janett Tetrick, June Bolen, Jeanne Lloyd, Billie Washburn, Chuck Grant (potential member) and John Skillman (potential member)


The SAR membership approved the minutes of the December meeting as published in the newsletter.


The secretary reported that the membership had risen to 27 members. Further, Tampa was the only chapter to submit money for the Pennies for Patriot fund and was recognized for this at the recent state board of management meeting.


The treasurer reported a balance of $2,345.12. He asked if Marty Miller would again audit the chapter books. Marty graciously agreed.


The president reported on the status of various people in the process of applying for membership. His fine work, along with that of his wife, continues to add members to the chapter’s roster.


There being no other business the meeting recessed for lunch.


President Tetrick introduced the secretary who, in turn, introduced Manning Miller, President of the St. Petersburg Chapter. Compatriot Miller then installed the Tampa Chapter officers for 2004.


Following the induction, the secretary gave a brief overview of current projects at the state level. To this end, he provided copies of the reports submitted to the recent Winter Board of Management. In particular the secretary highlighted the

-         excellent financial health of the state society

-         youth contests

-         recent vote by the BOM to hold three of the four meetings each year in Lakeland

-         new system by which members may receive the Florida Patriot magazine via the web

-         work of the education committee particularly in the area of textbook adoption

-         George Washington Memorial currently in planning for the Miami area

-         National Society’s Advancing America’s Heritage project


A brief question and answer session followed.


Janett Tetrick won the 50/50 drawing. The chapter treasury was enriched by $14.00.


President Tetrick led the recessional and Jim Washburn gave the benediction. The meeting adjourned at 1:24 pm.


Respectfully submitted,


Kevin Yarnell

Chapter Secretary