Minutes of the November 20, 2010 meeting of the Tampa Chapter SAR


President Luke Lloyd called the meeting to order at 12:00. Bob Yarnell offered the invocation. The President led the pledge to the flag and the pledge to the SAR.


Members present: Marty Miller, Cy Gamber, Paul Farley, Luke Lloyd, Bill Floyd, Chuck Copeland, Chuck Hawley, John Sessums, Alan Bell, Ed Neugaard, Ira Ward, Milt Alexander, Gray Reece, John Skillman, Dick Young, Robert Koehler, Robert Yarnell, and Kevin Yarnell.


Welcome guests:

Wives: Lissette Young, Judy Copeland, Phyllis Ward

Jack Spangler and Leo Kelly


The President asked the members to introduce their wives.


The minutes of the October meeting were approved.


Our Treasurer, Chuck Copeland, reported a balance of $2,498.02.


Alan Bell, the registrar reported that several supplementals are in various stages of approval.


Under old business consideration of Officer and Director Liability Insurance was postponed due to the absence of Terrell Sessums and the secretary. (The latter arrived later, following the state Board of Management meeting in Orlando.)


Vice President Yarnell gave a run down of future meetings. These can be found on the chapter website.


John Skillman reported on the information hed received about awards for which members are qualified. The chapter gave him permission to purchase the medals an expense of approximately $130.


The nominating committee placed into nomination their candidates for the 2011 chapter officers. John Skillman moved that the slate be elected. The motion was seconded by John Sessums and the candidates were elected unanimously. Our 2011 officers then will be:

Luther Lloyd President

Robert Yarnell Vice President

Kevin Yarnell Secretary

Chuck Copeland Treasurer

Allen Bell Registrar

Robert Yarnell Historian

John Sessums Sergeant at arms

Luther Lloyd Chaplain

Allen Bell Hillsborough River Camp, Sons of Liberty Brigade


Luke reminded the membership of a Genealogy Workshop in February.


The meeting recessed for lunch.


The President presented Gray Reece with his membership certificate.


The President introduced the Vice President who introduced our Law Enforcement Medal recipient Corporal R Haugh. Corp. Haugh is an 18 year veteran of the Pasco County Sheriffs Department and works primarily in training new deputies. He explained the training program to the members and noted how all law enforcement is grounded in the US Constitution. Following a number of questions from the members, Luke presented Deputy Haugh with the SAR Law Enforcement Medal.


Chuck Hawley won the 50/50. He donated the money to the chapter and thus the treasury was enriched by $16.00.


The President led the recessional, Bob Yarnell gave the benediction, and the meeting adjourned at 1:30pm.


Respectfully submitted,


Kevin Yarnell

Chapter Secretary